Town of Boone, NC

Sign Permits

The dominant force in the local economy is the service sector represented by Appalachian State University, Watauga Medical Center and the tourist industry. A major component of this sector is the provision of goods and services to the residents and visitors to this area. A necessary component of the provision of these goods and services is communication between the businesses and potential customers through the use of signs.

The Town of Boone recognizes the need for this form of communication; but also has a desire to maintain the high aesthetic character of the community and to avoid any negative visual impacts that egregious advertising has caused in many similar tourist destinations. In order to preserve the quality environment of the Town and provide guidance to the business community on signage, the Town of Boone has adopted a sign ordinance. This ordinance contains guidelines on design and placement of signs that is dependent upon the zoning district of the business. The sign regulations are located in Article XVIII of the Town of Boone Unified Development Ordinance.

Prior to installing a sign within the Town of Boone or Extra-territorial jurisdiction, a sign permit must be obtained from the Planning & Inspections Department. If a business owner has any questions relating to signs he or she should contact the Planning & Inspections Department Sign Administrator at (828) 268-6960. When calling, the business owner should be able to provide the location of the business, the property tax identification number and the linear building frontage or include this information in your email message. With this information the Sign Administrator will be able to provide guidance on the number, size and types of sign that may be permitted.

A completed application for a sign permit should be submitted to the Planning & Inspections Department along with related information. (Prior to issuing the permit it will be necessary that the business license number be provided for the business and the contractor.) After all information is submitted the application can be approved within two (2) business days.


**UNDER CONSTRUCTION**

 


The form is in PDF format. Adobe Acrobat Reader is required. If you do not have Acrobat, click here to download a free copy.

Contact Planning & Inspections

Planning & Inspections
680 W. King St. Suite C
Boone, NC 28607
828.268.6960 (Phone)
828.268.6961 (Fax)

Director 
Jane Shook
jane.shook@townofboone.net

Administrative Support Specialists
Brenda Henson
brenda.henson@townofboone.net

Marlene Crosby
marlene.crosby@townofboone.net

Building Inspections

Building Inspector III
David Little
david.little@townofboone.net

Building Inspector II
Stacey Miller
stacey.miller@townofboone.net

Building Inspector I
Chris Hughes
christin.hughes@townofboone.net

Building Inspector I
Chris Grubb
chris.grubb@townofboone.net

Planning

Senior Planner
Christy Turner
christy.turner@townofboone.net

Urban Design Specialist
Brian Johnson
brian.johnson@townofboone.net